Friday, November 14th, 2003

silverai: (Default)
Got woken up by someone with a heavy accent and the wrong mobile calling my mobile. It was about time I woke up anyway though, so that's not so bad.

Yesterday however, was a different story.

See, I'm one of those people who generally need to sleep in until about 10am, or at the very least, 9:30am. Yesterday, I woke up at 6am, and gave up on getting back to sleep at 6:30am, even going so far as to get out of bed so I wouldn't disturb Z in his final 30 - 40 mins of sleeping in. I ended up getting him out of bed anyway though.

I was in the shower, with my hair wet since it was about time I washed it. Looking up, I see a huge daddy-long-legs spider in a web in the corner of the ceiling. This fact alone I can handle and ignore, despite my deep fear of arachnid-looking things. I can handle getting, say, a metre close to spiders if they're not directly above my head and they aren't moving. _This_ spider was, needless to say, moving. That was bad enough. I just stood there with apprehension watching it for a while, making sure it wasn't going to crawl towards me. That's the main reason I don't like spiders moving. When they're moving, they could end up anyway, including nearer me or nearer somewhere I'm going to want to be later on. So, just about the time this spider moved around enough for me to determine it was not leaving it's web and I could continue my shower without watching it, IT FELL! Do _not_ believe anyone who tells you spiders won't fall, because this one bloody well did. Granted it was only a foot or so, but I tell you, I shrieked. If it can fall once, it can do it again.

So, there I was, not wanting get out of the shower because my hair was wet and I never wet my hair in the shower unless I'm going to wash it, and at the same time wanting to run several miles away from this spider that might fall on me at any given moment. My compromise was to just stand there, petrified and whimpering. It was the shriek followed by whimpering that got Z out of bed and to my rescue. A disgusted Z, since he couldn't see what all the fuss was about, but still a Z. About the time he reached the curtain, the spider did another useless imitation of "a spider never falls", this time only a few inches, but proof this spider was not licensed to be up on the ceiling making a web, no matter what it thought. Z crankily got it down and squashed it for me. Ah, I love living with such a heroic man *swoons*. I don't know what I'd do if not for his spider-combat skills. The drama over, I washed my hair and completed my shower.

So, onto the next order of the day. I had booked two tickets for mum and myself to the morning WASO symphony yesterday. Mum loves classical, and she enjoys it even more with company, so every so often I organise another WASO concert for her and even go along with her. The symphony was "The Russian Fireworks", which turned out to have 5 movements. The first movement was ok for about 10 mins, and then _excellent_ for the next 20 mins, even managing to wake me up enough to stare at the orchaestra raptly and forget I was tired. The next movement was 15 mins long, and wasn't enough to keep me distracted from being tired. I'm pretty sure I started snoozing somewhere there. Last came three 5 mins movements. The first sounded good, but I was too snoozy to appreciate it by then, the second eventuated it a deeper snooze, and the third sounded excellent once I was woken up by the gong, but I was to sleepy to appreciate it, having just woken up. I genuinely regret having missed that last movement.

To wrap things up, I made a fruit salad, picked my nephew up from school, and returned some Queens Park library books that I gave to my brother to do 2 weeks ago and I saw were still sitting there. That library charges late fees too. Luckily, when I got there the librarian told me they were due today, so I got them back in time. Then over to my sister-in-law's, where we were having a family dinner for Lawrence, being it's his birthday next Monday. Dinner was good, my fruit salad was excellent. Mum and dad ended up in an argument after the kids were put to bed. They haven't had one that I've been around for ages, but it was pretty mild compared to what they used to argue like. They left, I stayed with Scott, Cherrie, and David (who's in WA for good now, and out of the army). We had a peanut war, consisting of everyone throwing peanuts at everyone else, gathering up the ammo thrown at them, and throwing it back. Much fun was had. Followed by going home and finally getting some much needed sleep.

Well, it's been a while wince I documented what I've _actually_ been doing, so I thought I would, in all it's"meh" glory.

Also, I've been craving Heinz spaghetti on toast in the mornings, and Italian pasta the rest of the days all week. Odd.

LJ ClusterMap

Friday, November 14th, 2003 11:17 am
silverai: (Default)
This is interesting.

I'm trying to get all my Livejournal friends' locations plotted on a map - please add your location starting with this form.
Username:
(Then get your friends to!)

Profile

silverai: (Default)
silverai

August 2017

S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13 141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Thursday, March 26th, 2026 02:08 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios